St. Teresa of Avila | St. William Collaborative Region

The Archdiocese of Cincinnati has been planning for a number of years how to live the mission of Jesus Christ in the future using available resources (personnel, programs and finances) as effectively as possible, with changing demographics and fewer priests. Part of this future planning was the “clustering” of more than 200 parishes into approximately 100 pastoral regions. There are three types of pastoral regions: Single Parish Region, Collaborative Regions and Merged Regions.

A Collaborative Region is a group of parishes with one pastor assigned by the Archbishop. The pastor leads the parish staffs and leaders. Each parish retains its own Pastoral Council, Finance Council and Pastoral Staff, in a collaborative manner. One or more churches may be used for worship. On July 1, 2015, the parishes of St. Teresa of Avila and St. William formed a Collaborative Region with Fr. Michael Bidwell as pastor. Fr. Bidwell believes that, “Forming this Collaborative Region between two extremely dynamic parish communities is a wonderfully exciting challenge and an opportunity to bring together the best of who we are today for a tomorrow filled with nothing but hope.”

The St. Teresa of Avila | St. William collaborative region is committed to working together, sharing ministries as needed, and coordinating sacramental schedules while becoming a vibrant pastoral region living the mission of Jesus Christ. A Pastoral Region Planning Team has been formed with leadership from both St. Teresa of Avila and St. William along with our Pastor Michael Bidwell and Fr. Phil Seher, St. William Director of Liturgical Services. Their collective goal is to develop a good working relationship, identify collaborative efforts, and insure communication between both groups while maintaining the integrity of each individual parishes’ identity and concerns.